'Sneaky' adverts added to posts

bluetracker

Hi,
I'm a newbie on these boards and must say that I'm dismayed that you find the need to summarily insert hyperlinked adverts into postings that are generated on a user posting a 'keyword' a'la mainboard or other tech phrase.
I realise that you may need to generate funds to pay for the site's upkeep, but surely you could refrain from defacing a posting by use of 'back-door' advertising techniques?
:suspiciou

Would you rather have the ads and this wonderful site or neither?

How are the adverts sneaky? The ad links are green and double underlined - surely you can tell the difference between a normal link and an ad.

You could also try using a proper browser like Opera or Firefox - no ad links there.

When I first posted and viewed my post I saw certain words hyperlinked...and thought "Hey nifty idea, auto generated explanations of techy type words for the newbie"...but alas not...just adverts..each time my cursor hovers over an hyperlinked or if you (like I) navigate via the keyboard and leave the cursor in a static position, as soon as the page scrolls over a linked word ..up pop the ads obscuring the text...quite annoying.

I am using FIREFOX...and the links look like any other link at my end of the line, no double underline and they are BLUE! But then again I have configured FF to block pop up windows so perhaps that's where the difference lies in what you see and what is shown on my screen.
Quite difficult to totally block itxt from vibrantmedia.com altogether(without adding a load of lines to your HOSTS file or disabling javascript etc) so I guess FF is compromising a bit in my case.

Sneaky? Well I deem sneaky to be something that occurs to which no forewarning was given...didn't see anything resembling a warning that itxt would be used when I signed up :confused:

Edit= HOSTS file now adjusted and can read posts without interruption :approve: