Some serious laptop trouble that i cannot fix...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone im new and i am not very good with computers but what i do know is this, my laptop has a bad virus/spyware...

Every once in a while i get a SYSTEM ALERT blinking '!' in my toolbar. I constantly get fake antivirus popups and my internet explorer hompeage has been changed to iesafetylist.com and everytime i open it a big internet explorer warning shows up. I am pretty sure i have the IESMAIN.exe (not sure if i remeber that perfectly) virus type thing. My laptop is running sooo slow and it has to be because of this.

I'm really sorry if this is simple to fix or whatever but i really am not very smart when it comes to computers. My laptop used to have the whole "Spylocked" fake antivirus popups but i got rid of those and i think i got rid of DrAntispy for good but im not definite.

Any help would be veryyyy appreciated.
I'm not sure how to post my scan things on here like i've seen other people doing but i would if someone would tell me.

Thanks!

See this post by Howard_hopkinso, found elsewhere in this forum:

" If your system is infected. Read this before deciding whether to CLEAN or REFORMAT.
Before deciding whether your computer needs cleaning or reformatting, You need to ask yourself some questions.

Do you use your computer for any of the following? Online banking/Business purposes/storing sensitive or very personal information?

If the answer to any of those questions is yes, then you should immediately disconnect your computer from the net and do a complete format and reinstall.

This is because you computer may be infected with backdoor trojans. These will have sent your info to a third party who may use that info for their own purposes. If you use online banking, then your should contact your bank and arrange to have your password changed immediately. You should also, change any other passwords you use as these may have also been compromised.