Suggestions on a new GPU?

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first time posting and i was wondering what GPU i should buy. i have a budget of £100-£200 and these are my current specs:

CPU: Intel Pentium 4, 3066 MHz (23 x 133)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-8I915PM (2 PCI, 1 PCI-E x1, 1 PCI-E x16, 4 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
MB Chipset: Intel Grantsdale i915P
RAM: 1024 MB (DDR2-533 DDR2 SDRAM)
PSU: Encer 500w, +12v - 17A, -12v - 0.8A
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 6200 LE (128 MB)
3D Accelerator: nVIDIA NV44

I was thinking of maybe buying this card:
http://www.misco.co.uk/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=274919&CatId=2696

p.s I play game such as Oblivion and NFS:MW

You'd need the biggest and baddest for Oblivion.

Which means you'd want to spend as close to your 200 pounds as possible. This card would suit you better, or the same card of a different brand. No brand stands out more than others when it comes to performance, so you might want to pit some other criteria to choosing it (price is a good criteria).

However, your CPU might be a bottleneck here for such a high end card.

That card will last you a good while. probably quite a bit longer than the rest of your hardware, since its the high end. I can't believe you've been able to run oblivion on that LE card. with the 8800GTS Oblivion will look WICKED! its awesome, really worth it.

Look into getting an eVGA e-GeForce 7900 GS KO 256MB. They are only about $140. There also great mainstream cards. I play oblivion near high settings with my computer.

Like I said, you'd need the biggest to play Oblivion, although the 7900GS is pretty good value in its price range as well.

I wouldn't go specifically with the eVGA version, beef_jerky4104 has been recommending eVGA products so much on this site I think he's been hired by them :D:D:D

I'd get a stock version of that card and overclock it myself.