Swapped perfect running rig into new case, wont stay running now.

Status
Not open for further replies.
wow, i just typed for 15 minutes and it didnt save anything i typed when i tried to post and erased it all, im so frusterated now im about to give up lol.. im not a newbie when it comes to building computers, ive built all sorts of custom rigs/client rigs, but im stumped on my own setup.

setup before case swap :

asus a7n8x-e deluxe
antec 400w PSU
athlon xp 3000+ barton
thermaltake volcano 11+ xaser edition cpu heatsink/fan
2x512 corsair xms ddr3200
geforce 6600 agp
80gig WD 7200 IDE
sony dvd/rw drive
sony cd/rw drive

ok before swap it ran PERFECT. no glitches what so ever, nice temps. I pulled everything out and dusted it all off with air duster, tore the cpu heatsink/fan off and took it all apart and cleaned it all out and reassembled, cleaned off old paste and applied new silver thermal compound, remounted heatsink on to cpu. placed screws on new case (heres link for it BTW http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811133154 ) and installed the mobo/cpu. From here on out, its self explanatory, installed all drives and stuff, spent HOURs wiring it up professionally.

Heres thwe bad part, i go to start it up, it beeps once which is a good thign to hear when starting up your pc, and i got into bios to look at temps while i troubleshoot my fans in the case making sure all are working properly and flowing air like they should be, including the cpu fan, all looked good as far as fan flow goes. less then 10 seconds after getting into bios and quickly going to the temps, my system is shutting off, but the power LED light remains on, until i hold it for 5sec and it goes off.. i repeated this twice, same results both times. Heres what ive done so far.

1)short out PSU to see if psu is overheating and turning off, ran every fan great without being hooked to motherboard, ran it for a few minutes, seemed like it was in good working order.