System Dead!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have read some of the posts here regarding systems that won't post or boot up. I am by trade a research and development engineering tech/prototype engineering coordinator. I have an understanding of electronics and computer systems, but am stumped at the moment.

My second system, a 3.06gig Pentium 4 will not POST. When I push the power switch, all I get are the three LEDs on the keyboard (Num Lock, Caps Lock, and Scroll Lock) flashing on and off. Flashing in no particular order as if it were a code sequence, just flashing on and off. Nothing else…no fans, no LEDs, no monitor, nothing. This is a list of what I have already done to try and fix this problem:

1. Change keyboard
2. Change mouse
3. Change power supply
4. Test voltages on power supply (using DVM)
5. Change video card
6. Reseat RAM
7. Reseat CPU and fan
8. Test front panel power switch (using DVM)
9. Physically jump out pins on the MB Power On header
10. Clear the CMOS
11. Disconnect all drives and remove all cards but the video card.
12. Change the video card
13. Inspected board for any burned out components…there are none that I can see.

I think that about covers it. I am hoping someone else may have run into this problem and can help me figure out which way to go next. I hate to loose this MB as they do not make it any longer. What follows is what the system consists of:

Gigabyte GA-8PE667 Ultra 2 (478 pin)
Pentium 4 @ 3.06 gig
1gig (2-512mb/16CH sticks) Samsung PC333 DDR RAM
4- Maxtor DiamondMax 10 80gig ATA133 HDs
ATI 9800 Pro 128mb AGP video card
Antec TruePower Trio 550 watt SLi power supply

The rest of the peripherals don’t matter as far as troubleshooting this problem. Any help is greatly appreciated.

things you haven't done-
1. replace the CMOS battery.
2. replace the CPU
3. did you get a BIOS beep
4. did you check the mobo manual for LED flash code meanings?
5. when you say you tested the PSU- did you use a tester or a multimeter?