The end of rambus?

Status
Not open for further replies.

somekid007

hi all

i just got bored the other day playing CS on my springdale system and all of a sudden, out of the blue, "WHAT'S GONNA HAPPEN WITH RAMBUS?"

ever since intel replaced its flagship i850e rambus chipset with the i875P and a more mainstream i865PE, rambus has been in the shadows

i've also heard rumours about a sis chipset utilizing rambus 1200 (?) that theoretically boosts the bandwith to something like 8 gbps (correct me if im wrong)

so whats up with rambus nowadays? just curious

I read somewhere that rambus has a new type of ram comming out.I have pc1066 in this puter and dont know how I will replace it if it goes bad :dead: ,but I will look for that thread and let you know

Do you know, I am a computer network technician at a university, and I deal with all kinds of hardware and software all the time, and do you know....

....do you know that I think I have never even seen a RAMBUS module?

Maybe once I saw some machines that had those, along with an earlier Pentium III, I think. I think we bought maybe one lab of them somewhere.

EVERYTHING else I have seen is DDR-SDRAM. Even servers, etc.

Phantasm66, Me neither, never saw a Rambus module.

It's just silly how unpopular the technology has became...

Rambus is being sued by Intel and lots of other companies. They are in trouble. RDRAM is also being dropped by everyone.

That news article looks very much like the first announcments they made with the launch of the first rambus generation. It's very difficult to have 2 memory standards. Even now, more and more mobo's come with dual channel DDR, wich is very fast, specially in P4 systems where Rambus had the advantage. DDR is pushing hard and I doubt Rambus can compete in a mid-short term.

anything 8x