Thinking about buying a new PC...

Status
Not open for further replies.

yorkshirewench

This is my first post on this message board so I hope I'm starting this thread in the right place.

I'm thinking about buying a new PC and my main concern is that I can't afford one with a Pentium processor but that's all I'm familiar with. I've seen one I can afford but it has an AMD Athlon processor and for some reason I've always avoided them.

At the moment I have:
Pentium 4 1700MHz
Windows ME
128MB RAM
40GB drive
Radeon 9800 Pro

The one I'm looking at has:
AMD Athlon 64 3400+
Windows XP
1024MB DDR RAM (2x 512MB)
400GB (2x200) 7200 RPM Serial ATA Drive
128Mb GeForce FX5200

I'm not a novice when it comes to computers but I'm not an expert either so although I understand pretty much all of the above, some of it does confuse me. What I'd like to know is, would it be worth my buying the new PC for what I want to use it for? I play games occasionally (Hitman, Tomb Raider etc.) but mainly I use my PC for capturing video clips and editing them.

I realise the graphics card is not as good but the one I have now I installed myself without any problems so if I found the new one unsatisfactory I could easily replace it.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :)

i know many other people might post much more detailed responses here, but from my experience, AMD is the top dog in CPU's and has been for awhile. that new comp you're looking at sounds ideal.