1. TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users. Ask a question and give support. Join the community here.
    TechSpot is dedicated to computer enthusiasts and power users.
    Ask a question and give support.
    Join the community here, it only takes a minute.
    Dismiss Notice

Tracing webhosting company

By Hodsocks ยท 5 replies
Oct 2, 2005
  1. Not sure if anyone can help but I am trying to trace who is hosting a website. I have carried out a whois search on the domain name and from the information thought I had found the company but they say we must have acquired the name through a reseller, who at the moment is unknown.
    The nameserver is listed but I have tried to contact the company without success.
    The reason for doing all this is to update our website and to improve out e-mail using the domain name.
    Do any of you guys have any experience of this and can point me in the right direction?
  2. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 6,503

    Who has been making changes to that website up till now?
    Who installed it originally?
    Any company send you a renewal notice for the website and/or registration?
    PM me with that website name and any other info you may have, and I'll see what I can dig up for you.
  3. Nodsu

    Nodsu TS Rookie Posts: 5,837   +6

    Someone is providing the intrenet connection for that website. Call them up and ask who are the clients. (And hope thay actually bother to tell you).
  4. Hodsocks

    Hodsocks TS Guru Topic Starter Posts: 381

    Hi Real. the domain name and website is monopigment.com. The only info I can get from the website is that it seemed to be with Btinternet but when we contacted them they didn't know anything about it.
    The domain is registered with Joker.com, we contacted them and they told us it was through a reseller and did not know who it was. The person who originally set it all up has moved on amd cannot remember who it was all done through, it was 8 years ago now.
    The contacts we have seem to be with a company in the states called domain-parking.net but we have sent them numerous e-mails without reply, hence the questions on here.
  5. RealBlackStuff

    RealBlackStuff TS Rookie Posts: 6,503

    Get hold of BTInternet
    Domain Name: BTINTERNET.COM

    Administrative Contact :
    British Telecommunications plc
    PP TKS/F18/01 Trunk Exchange Sth
    109-117 Long Rd
    Cambridge, Cambs CB2 2HG
    Phone: +44 1223 840711
    Fax: - +44 1223 358474

    Technical Contact :
    BTinternet Operations Centre
    154 St Albans Road, Sandridge
    Phone: 01992-897177

    The pages are stored at: http://www.btinternet.com/~monopigmentdevelopments/ index.html, page1.html, etc.

    Someone has an email account "monopigmentdevelopments @ btinternet.com", and this has some webspace attached to it as well. This space was used for these few pages.

    If you don't get anywhere, 'suck' the pages from there, then search for a cheap hosting company (e.g. www.godaddy.com) to store your website.
  6. Hodsocks

    Hodsocks TS Guru Topic Starter Posts: 381

    Thanks for the help Real I will get in touch with them. :D
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...