Trying to build pc....

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello...well ok i'm trying to build a pc...i'm pretty new to this stuff, so i checked out a few sites. i couldn't find "and *****s guide to pc building" anywhere. i really want to do this. right now i have a emachine w1640 in front of me. i have all the parts. when i hooked everything up, it wouldn't even turn on. all i see is a little red light on, on the motherboard. i doubt i'll get any serious answers to this. i've tried quite a few message boards. maybe someone could point me in the right direction? if not, thank you anyway. oh and happy 4th :giddy:

oh yeah and as for my other pc, which is kinda old. (packard bell multimedia) i try to boot and i get an error something like "invalid system disk" or whatever. its like it doesn't recognize the hard drive. could someone also maybe tell me how to get it to boot from my hard drive? or set it up in bios? sorry, i know i'm asking alot. and probably not even in the correct part of the site to ask.

Hello, welcome to Techspot!

Ok, do you mean you've already got all the parts to build the pc, or you have your emachine tore apart and are doing a "test run"?

Can you say exactly what happens? Do fans spin? Do led's come on? Does the cd drive open/close?

What hardware are you working with?

Second question, do you have a floppy in the floppy drive in packard bell?
IIRC, a floppy in the drive will give you that error, and I guess a bad hd(or disconnected hd).

Here's a pc building guide page.
One for intel, one for amd.
http://www.hardwarezone.com/guides/intel-socketT/
http://www.hardwarezone.com/guides/amd-socket939/

vnf4ultra said:

Ok, do you mean you've already got all the parts to build the pc, or you have your emachine tore apart and are doing a "test run"?

Can you say exactly what happens? Do fans spin? Do led's come on? Does the cd drive open/close?

IIRC, a floppy in the drive will give you that error, and I guess a bad hd(or disconnected hd).