Unable to acquire network address

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm having problem with a computer at work. Yesterday, I moved ithe computer from one area of the office building to another and when I hooked it back up to the network, it kept giving me a message saying "aquiring network address" and then it said that it was unable to acquire the network address. It worked fine when it was hooked up in another office, but now since I moved it, it won't let me connect to the network. Please Help!

You are probably on a different subnet or domain. The only way to resolve this is to talk to your network admin and tell them that you have moved your desk.

Thanks for you input, however right now I am the only "network admin" that is available to resolve this issue. As you can probably tell, I am pretty new to all this. All I know is that the computer connected to the network fine until I moved it to a different area of the building. All of the computers here are on the same domain, so I don't know why it wouldn't work. Any other suggestions would be very helpful. Thanks!

Are you sure the connection in the new office is live? Connected to the server in your computer room? Got a laptop laying around you might check the connection with?

New location? did you just install new site equipment in another building or what?

The router you're connecting to; was it preconfigured or is it 'just out of the box"?

Your symptom indicates that DHCP (from your system) is failing to locate your
router -- as said previously, liking to be on a different subnet than the one used
previously