Uninstalling Roxio, Installing Nero...?

Status
Not open for further replies.
The tale of the tape:

After experiencing numerous problems using Adaptec/Roxio Easy CD Creator 4x -- usually in the form of output failures, and then, recently, complete freeze-up's -- I uninstalled the program. Both my "regular" & CD/R drives -- stop me if you've heard this one -- thereupon "disappeared."

It's nice to know that I'm not alone in experiencing this phenomena, but here's the deal:

I'm running Windows 98. and ECDC 4.05 is currently installed. I have downloaded ECDC 5x Platnum, and both of the patches available from the Roxio site for 5x users, though I've yet to install any of these.

My question is, is it safe (i.e. wiil my CD drives disappear again, or worse) to uninstall ECDC 4.05 & install Nero in its place? Should I do a manual uninstall rather than using Add/Delete Programs?

I'm not technically sophisticated, so I don't know whether the Nero drive will work properly, even if uninstall of ECDC succeeds. If this makes any sense: I have a "read & write IDE CD-ROM drive," "MAN SWR US CD/RW-RO," and "MANCDR/DVD US ALLMOD INST RO." *Any* assistance would be greatly appreciated,

Mark

It should be safe to uninstall Easy CD 4 / 5 and install Nero. I have actually heard of occasional problems installing both softwares, so I recommend uninstalling Easy CD actually. It's a very buggy program.

Any uninstall you do should be done with ADD/REMOVE Programs.. If you just delete the folder, you could be in for some major problems. At the very least, it will leave behind junk DLLs and programs in your system folders that you really don't need.

Uninstall Easy CD first, then install Nero. If you experience any probelms using Nero (which I do not forsee), they might be caused by Easy CD uninstalling the Adaptec ASPI drivers, which are a free download from Adapatec.

Rick & Prashidi: