Updated to wrong bios :/

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi, i updated my gigabyte ga-7va bios earlier but i used the wrong bios file, i updated to the hacked ga-7vaxp bios, my computer runs fine except my floppy disk controller and my ports dnt work, my monitor also decides not to work now and again afta i restart or turn me pc on. also when booting up it stats tat my mobo is a ga-7vaxp now and to check system health.

i updated my bios using gigabytes @bios tool and saved my previous bios b4 i did. ive tried to run @bios agen and use my old bios but it just stops on 48% all the time :/ ive downloaded other ga-7va bios updates but cant get these to work either :/

im kinda new to all this updating bios thing, any1 got any ideas of how i can put my old bios back on?

ta

All the Gigabyte boards I've known come with DualBios which does a backup of your BIOS before flashing it. Now, maybe it wasn't such a good idea to keep trying to flash it non stop. Once the first flash failed, you should tried to revert to the old BIOS.

What you should try to do now is go to the Gigabyte website, look for your board & get an OFFICIAL BIOS & try to update using that one.

& never, ever, ever try to fiddle with that again.

i tried to revert to my old BIOS as soon as i realised wot i did but when using @BIOS tool it just stops at 48% not sure y.
ive tried the newest offical BIOS but it still wont update using tat. stays at 48% agen.

is there any way of making a ms-dos boot up CD so i can try flashing from there? since my floppy drive dnt work nw :/

my mobo does have a dual Bios utility but when i try to use the backup my monitor doesn't come on and i got to clear the cmos to make it run from the main 1 agen.

Are you flashing from Windows ?
nonono.gif