Upgrading graphics memory

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbirdman

I have a toshiba satellite 2455-s305. I baught a game that requires a graphics card with at least 128MB VRam. My laptop only has 32MB. I talked to a guy at best buy and he said that he could upgrade the memory to 128 but i really don't have ther extra money at the moment to do so. My Graphics card is a GeForce 420 Go. My wife has a HP Pavilion ze5600 laptop and her graphics card runs 64 MB. I would appreciate anyhelp you could give with updating them to play our games if u could. Thank You.

usually graphics memory is soldered on to the board so all you could really do is take it off then put some bigger chips back on if you have a supremely steady hand. i'm not an expert on the innards of laptops but this is the case in desktop pc's and probably is in laptops too.

The GeekSquad man i talked to said it was only a matter of changing the Bios settings, or something like that, on them to upgrade to 128. It would cost me around $30 each though so i was just looking for a cheaper alternative.

Thanks, Jay

ahhh i see. there is a setting in the bios that tells windows to ues more of your system ram for your graphics, which you could do yourself :) if you open up your bios (you'll need to press delete, F2 or F12 before the windows loading bar - it should say on the screen somewhere what one you need to press) then there will be an option that should be something like Hardware Settings or Configuration, something along those lines. then find the one that mentions graphics memory (may be abbreviated) and change it to 128M instead of 32M :) (technically it's Mb but my bios only says M :))

The Geek Squad man was talking about allocating (allowing) more system memory to be used for video. This IS done in the bios. You can increase system memory, but as you know, it will be expensive.

"I'm not an expert on the innards of laptops but this is the case in desktop pc's and probably is in laptops too"...