Upgrading my PC. Decisions, decisions...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maxïmo

Hey guys, first off, I'd like to say I should have joined a long time ago. This forum has helped me so much! Anyway...

I was looking for some advice on a cheap, but worthwhile upgrade. Im in the UK so cant use newegg (I think :confused: ) with a budget of around £250-£300 (~$450-$550). of course I wouldn't be upset if the build ended up with a little cash left over, I am a student after all! :D

The budget is to buy a new CPU, Motherboard, Graphics Card, and s'more RAM. And I may need a new PSU aswell. I was thinking of an AMD Athlon 64 3000 (maybe higher depending on other components), a GeForce 6600gt 128Mb DDR3 or Radeon 9800 Pro 128Mb DDR, and a stick or two of 512Mb DDR400 RAM. I welcome any suggestions you have on any components, but esp. Motherboards and PSU's.

Maybe its pushing it, but I'd like to be able to run the likes of Half Life 2, but if not, I'll settle for a pc thats gunna last me through the next few years of Uni, cos I prob won't have the funds to upgrade for a while :(

Many thanks in advance to anyone who replies!

Will

Had another thought. The PCI-E motherboards appear to be a lot more expensive than the AGP ones. Is it worth spending the extra dosh on a PCI-E compatible graphics card and motherboard, or is it better value to stick with AGP?

Will

With agp, you could get more for your money now, but then later, you won't have as much upgradeability. Performance between agp and pci-e are similar, although pci-e is faster, just not totally utilized yet.

Maybe your market is different, but the price difference between similar agp and pci-e cards isn't that much in the US.

Look at the offerings from www.komplett.co.uk
You won't find much cheaper than that.
Go for a Socket939 AMD64 motherboard. Get an AMD64-3000 S939 'Venice' now (ADA3000BPBOX, includes fan + 3yr warranty). In 1-2 years you could upgrade to a faster, or even dual-core CPU.