Upgrading my PC for gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

skitzo_zac

I want to upgarde my pc for better gaming performance but i dont know what to get. I currently have a G-force 6600gt AMD 3000+ 1.80GHz 512mb of RAM.

Well, that is not a terrible maching for gaming....

Depending on what motherboard you have, if I were you I'd go up to a gig of ram, and OC that CPU (evil thought, I know). Your card is fine, but again, if you have the cash to burn and want an extreme system, bump yourself up to the 6800GT.

What is your motherboard by the way?

Mother Board

If you loock at the attached picture you will know what my mother board is I dont know if it's good or not. Im a newb when it somes down to it all.

Attachments

• Mother Board.JPG
    Mother Board.JPG
    36 KB · Views: 31
Looks like this is your motherboard: http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p_spec.asp?model=K8T_Neo2-FIR&class=mb

And it's not a bad motherboard at all. You have socket 939 for your CPU, so at this point, the sky is the limit as far as upgrading your CPU.

It all depends on how much you want to spend. Your graphics card is a good one for a budget level. There are stonger cards out there that will greatly increase your gaming performance, but I don't think that is the priority for you.

I'd say upgrade to a gig of ram first, if you still have some cash left over, consider upgrading your CPU (look at newegg for socket 939 CPUs to get an idea of what you can upgrade to with your budget). If you still have cash to blow after that, then consider a new card, but anything more powerful than the one you have now is gonna cost some coin ;)

Do you know what kind of ram you are using now? PC3200?

When upgrading, it is also important to pay attention to what your PSU can handle. Do you know how many watts your current PSU is rated for? What make is it?

Upgrading RAM