Upgrading to RAID 1 windows load problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Forgive me if this is a stupid question, but I am fairly new to customizing computors in this way...

I am upgrading by adding a second SATA drive for a RAID 1 setup. I have had no trouble following the available guides to get through the BIOS setup and getting the existing drive copied, etc. My problem is that Windows XP will not load afterwards.

I am suspecting I need to install a driver or something at this point, but I am at a loss as to how to procede. When rebooted with the RAID turned off, the drive is detected by windows just fine.

What step am I missing?

Thanks

How about providing us with a bit more information about the setup on which you're trying to install Windows ?

more Info

It is a system I built a little over a year ago: MSI motherboard with built in Promise controller, and running Windows XP home. Currently has a single 120 gig SATA HD, which works fine. I am adding a second 120 gig HD, same model/manufacturer as the first for a RAID 1.

Like I said I have not had a problem with the BIOS setup, and have successfully copied the contents of the original HD with the Promise Fastbuild utility. It is after the process is complete and I attempt to reboot.

The Windows load screen flashes for a few seconds and then I get and error message that Windows cannot load, would I like to load the last successful settings, etc.

The reason I've asked you to give details on the system is to find out which drivers are needed for the Windows XP installation.

Once you know the exact Promise controller present on your board, it is only a matter of downloading the proper RAID driver either on the MSI site or the Promise site.

BTW I hope you have a floppy drive on that system as you'll need it to load the drivers in the first part of the Windows XP install process (when it tells you to hit F6 to load 3rd party drivers).