USB Flash Drive Problems

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I have a 512meg usb flash drive Pen (No name brand from e-bay) and a sony 2 gig micro vault. Flash drive. I also have 4 different Computers. 2 - Dell 8400, 1 - Dell XPS laptop and 1 that I put together myself. (I’ve been building them for over 10 years). This is the first time I’ve tried “Flash Drives” Both of the flash drives are doing the same thing, on all the computers. I have spent the last week reading every “Forum” I can find about my problem and have found “Nothing”. This is what I’m dealing with, When I plug in ether drive into any one of my computers, the flash drive is recognized and the space available is correct. I can copy anything to both drives. I can also watch the “Copy” progress, something is being copied. When I view what I've copied on ether flash drive, I can see “Every” file I’ve copied. It appears to be there. Even the size is correct. But when I try to access any of the files, I can’t... I get one of the following errors, 1 – “The Parameter is Incorrect” or 2 – “Only part of a Read Process Memory or Write Process Memory request was Completed”, or 3 – a dos window will open for about 3 sec. and then close. Only 1 or 2 files I copy, Work… PDF files are in tacked and readable, as are Word Docs. But Nothing else. I find it hard to believe that I have 2 bad drives or a problem with all 4 computers. I hope someone can help before I give up entirely on “Flash Drives”… :giddy:

Thanks guys, DRat...

Have you tried formatting the flash drives? A corrupt filesystem will play all kinds of tricks on you.

Yes, I use "Disk Managemant" to format both drives (fat32). When it's finished, "DM" tells me that the Partition is "Healthy and Active". And it shows the right size. Also, all of my computers are running XP Pro. I've have done this 7 or 8 times. Each time the same thing...

Do you remove the drives with the "safely remove" thingy?