User Review: Western Digital Special Edition 120GB HDD

So, how'd you like my review? (Be sure to read it first ;) )

• It was OK for a first-timer.

Votes: 2 18.2%
  • Excellent!

Votes: 6 54.5%
  • You've got a long way to go, but it was a good start.

Votes: 2 18.2%
  • That was the most ill-conceived rubbish I've ever read! Thanks for wasting my time!

Votes: 1 9.1%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Vehementi

As was suggested a long time ago, I have finally gotten to writing the promised review for my HDD. This is my first time reviewing anything like this, or anything for that matter :rolleyes:

Anyway, I hope you like it...

Western Digital has been making hard drives for a while now. They have always been known for their excellent build quality and superior performance. But currently, WD makes some of the best hard drives on the market. I personally favor them, as this is my 2nd Western Digital, and after 5 years, the 1st WD, a 10GB Caviar, is working wonderfully. Although hard drive reliability is purely subjective, everyone has their own experiences on the matter. There is no “best” hard drive manufacturer, IMHO, but WD currently has the fastest drives out. Another factor to consider is that this drive is ATA100. Since ATA133 offers no real performance increase, as no drive today can give out that speed, Western Digital just decided to keep it @ ATA100.
The drive came packaged in a pretty colorful WD standard box, with two big stickers announcing it to be 120GB and w/ an 8MB cache. The drive was packaged well with an anti-static bag, and bracers to each side of the drive. WD also has the good sense to package in an IDE cable, mounting screws, a manual, a quick setup poster, and WD’s own proprietary Data Lifeguard software.