Video card problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

kreftm

Let me start off by saying that this is the last time I'll post a new thread for my problem, promise.

My specs: I have a 2002 model year Dell, P4 1.99 GHz, 2GB DDR, standard (most likely crap) vid and sound cards. I'm just getting into building/modifying computers and am, overall, newly interested in hardware. I'm going to build one from scratch soon, but want to fix my existing problem first.

My computer was running slow so I added 1GB DDR Corsair ValueSelect of memory to my existing 256Mb giving me a grand total of 1.25GB. I use my computer primarily for multimedia (no gaming). My computer ran beautifully at that point watching movies, listening to music, downloading, uploading, etc. But, when I was adding the extra memory, I noticed that it was incredibly dusty so I bought some canned air a few days later to take care of it. I blew the whole thing out and also took off the heatsink over the processor and cleaned it. When I restarted my computer, it booted to Windows (XP SP2), and shut off. I tried to boot it again and it did the same thing. This happened 3 times total. I let the computer sit for about an hour and it booted correctly. But it ran much slower than it should have when listening to music and browsing the internet or (especially) when watching video. I've ruled out a PSA problem because it has not shut off since. A few weeks later, I replaced the existing 256MB DDR with another Corsair ValueSelect 1GB for a new grand total of 2GB. I've since ruled out a Memory problem. When browsing the internet, I notice the lag most when there are moving graphics on the screen. My CPU usage is usually pinned at 100% while this is happening.

Could I have damaged my video card while cleaning the my case or somehow damanged the processor when I removed the heatsink? I did not force anything and was very careful not to bump anything. Any ideas?

Mike