Video Frustrations

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys...

I've been having difficulty with brightness and video for some time now. I've maxed out the brightness on my monitor and I've managed to lighten up my desktop and desktop applications, but there are still some things that stay awfully dark, such as games (when I start up a fullscreen game, the gamma resets to the same level as it was before I tweaked it for desktop applications) and DVDs (I have tried the overlay control, but my computer crashes as soon as I change anything). The games are simply too dark to play and have no feature in them to change how bright they are (or console commands etc.).

I am using an NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400 and I have some knowledge of computers and hardware, but this one leaves me stumped. Overall, I am very pleased with this card, but these problems are quite frusterating (I'm sure other people have dealt with this problem before too) and I would appreciate any advice or help.

Thanks in advance,

Mike

I want to think it might be a problem with the monitor, but I'm leaning more toward the video card, possibly the drivers. You said you were getting crashes, this leans toward drivers. If it were simply the monitor dying it wouldn't cause a crash I wouldn't think. Try updating your display drivers, or if you recently did, roll them back. There is always the possibility that it is the video card itself, it could simply be a bad card, or if you've tweaked it, something could have gone wrong or the fan may have gone bad and mucked up the chip.

I would try the drivers though, that sounds like the most likely cause.

I have tried the overlay control, but my computer crashes as soon as I change anything
Sounds like drivers I'm willing to bet that if you download the newest video drivers from http://www.nvidia.com , your crashing problem will be fixed. It also may be linked to your brightness problem.