Virus turned off firewall - nothing is working

Status
Not open for further replies.

boardrat

I caught the flu....and I can get it working. I admit I am a novice - Please help. I caught a bug that turned off my firewall and cannot get it removed - internet is intermittent on machine at best.

Please help.

thanks

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT and AVG Antispyware logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of boardrat only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

Hijack log

still working on getting an AVG log...here is my hijack log... I had an error or warning that came up that said something like....ip address does not match, but the warning went away. I followed the directions and ran every program...ran them in safe mode as well. I am still in the same boat....

where do i go now?

brad

You might want to copy and paste these instructions into a notepad file. Then you can have the file open in safe mode, so you can follow the instructions easier.

Turn off system restore.(XP/ME only) See how HERE.

Boot into safe mode, under your normal user name(NOT THE ADMINISTRATOR ACCOUNT). See how HERE.

In Windows Explorer, turn on "Show all files and folders, including hidden and system". See how HERE.

Open your task manager, by holding down the ctrl and alt keys and pressing the delete key.

Go to add remove programmes in your control panel and uninstall anything to do with(if there).

PC MightyMax<This is not nasty, but it`s not a very good reg cleaner and can cause problems.

Close control panel.

Click on the processes tab and end process for(if there).

pcmm.exe
olgisdg.exe

Close task manager.