Viruses, spyware.. help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ariinya

I don't even know WHERE to begin. There seems to be too much wrong with my computer at the moment. Somewhere, I picked up a few viruses and spyware. Popups, er... popup randomly on my desktop (some of them sexually explicit, which is ANNOYING >.<). That's the most noticable thing. I get false virus warnings that ask me to go download anti-spyware programs.

I think two of the things are Troj_Agent, and Toolbar888 (which I think is MyToolbar, or something).

Anyway, I've heard I need a HijackThis log? I'm not sure, I've never used it before.

Someone please help me. I'm at my wit's end! My virus program can't help me (Trend Micro PC-cillin). The Troj_Agent thing can't be quarantined, and the MyToolbar thing... I don't know. I think it says it's a .dll in the System Volume folder, and access is denied to the cleaning tool. Troj_Agent is in winhoo32.dll.

Attachments

• hijackthis.log
    4 KB · Views: 5
I'm no expert by any means but I've dealt with more than a few viruses and spyware programs in my time. I don't think you'll need to go so far as to reformat and reinst windows though.
Anytime an antivirus or other problem removal program like PC-cillin can't quarantine, clean, or delete an identified threat is more than likely because the program has gotten into your system restore folder. The system restore folder is blocked to any and all access by every program on your PC, including anti-virus programs. This is understandable because it's designed so that nothing can alter the files so you have a suposedly safe registry to roll back to. Unfortunately there are quite a few malware programs out there that can root themselves in there.