What's This Link And How Did It Get On My Website..

By Jasio-
Aug 13, 2006
  1. Ok.. the link is halflife2.zoy.org When you go to it it makes your broswer bounce/dance whatever. I'm curious how my site's index got changed from a redirection to www.gf-s.net/forums to a redirection to this link. Is it bad in any way for my computer or just a joke.. If you click it i suggest you open it in a new window as you will have to Alt F4 your self out of it, or stop the load (if that works)
  2. Spike

    Spike TS Evangelist Posts: 2,168

    Sounds very much like a joke page.

    Either you are having a laugh by posting that story, somebody you know has done this to your site, your domain has been hi-jacked by someone, or you've been hacked.

    I can't tell you if it's bad for your machine though because I wasn't going to hang around and check the page source. It did hoewer have the tool tip: "click to activate this control", so there's obviously something or other embeded on it.

    It would however be an interesting and efficient meme if someone had written it for the distribution of malware through a browser vulnerability.

    I would recommend that people don't go to the address unless they know otherwise, or if you truly can't resist, make sure you do it within a virtual machine.
  3. Jasio-

    Jasio- TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 70

    Thanks.. I'm not laughing about this, although its kinda hilarious =] *goes to link and gets blowed*
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add your comment to this article

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...