Where to Start

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am wanting to start programing, especially in java, but to be honest i dont have a clue where to start, there are so many books out there and different courses you can do.

Can anyone suggest a good book for beginners but contain enough information to teach me enough to write in java, and teach me sorta everything i need to know, so i dont have to go out and spend thousands of rands in books, and if you know any good websites that may help

:confused:

What previous experience do you have with programming?
Is Java an additional language for you or your first?

i have no previouse experience with programing, but wanting to do web developement and would like to learn jave as a first

I would probably recommend a "Java for Dummies" book from the Dummies range. Simply because it will probably undertake the task of explaining the essence of Object Oriented Programming (OO), probably without much reference to procedural programming (which you are unexperienced with). Other than that the "Unleased" series of books from SAMS publishing have always been quite detailed and helpful (but then again I have a background in programming to build on with these books).

Teach yourself Java 2 in 21 days
SAMS publishing Java books
Java 2 for Dummies

Originally posted by Psychotic
i have no previouse experience with programing, but wanting to do web developement and would like to learn jave as a first

For web development, the importance of Java varies. What exactly do you plan on doing with web development? How much do you already know? Generally speaking, Java seems to be a way to "show off".. It can offer great functionality, but it is often not very practical to use.

If you have very little web experience... It may be more useful to learn the ropes of DHTML (CSS, Javascript) before you dive into the complicated mess that is Java. Perhaps even Macromedia Flash.