Which Linux Distro Should I Get in place of Ubuntu?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sir_Lancelot

I was originally using Ubuntu 7.04 on this computer. But Due to A MAJOR problem that nobody has provided me with a fix for and Im tired of waiting. I want to know which Distro would be right for me.

Im going to be using it as a primary OS and IM going to keep Windows around for gaming. Im currently on a Dual boot system with Ubuntu 7.04 and XP Pro

The reason I want to replace Ubuntu is because my Lite On SATA CDburner / DVD burner combo drives DOES not exist peroid to it, and since IM a linux newbie and the Linux pros are basically being useless to me by not even seeming interested in helping me (some community heh) and the ones that are trying to help dont speak newb, or are just as confused as I am.

and IM sure you agree with thats the ONLY Disk drive on your computer and you cant use it with the OS of choice, its time to find another OS!

So Im going to be using Linux to surf the web, download, play music, burn cds in mp3 format to listen to in my car, chat with friends, and do basic general use stuff, and just keep my dual boot of XP for playing video games.

I want something as close to Ubuntu as possible since BEYOND that CD/DVD issue that ruined that OS for me, I REALLY liked Ubuntu though I cant see how people say its the best when its so ridden with bugs and apperantly has so many issues with SATA drives!

SNGX1275 said:
I've always liked Suse.
Ive been thinking of going Debian personally since Ubuntu is Debian based, what can you tell me about Suse compared to Debian? and those two compared to ubuntu

Nothing. I don't use linux enough. When I did use Ubuntu the apt get was pretty sweet. But I'm certain there is something similar you can do in Suse. I just thought perhaps you wanted to get away from whatever caused your drive problem, staying debian might not be enough, but again I don't know enough about linux to know.