Will it work ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ravisunny2

I'm sorry in advance if someone has already posted somthing similar.

I'm currently using a dialup 56K modem, which is painfully slow & awfully expensive (hence I skipped a search).

While it gives a warm glow to have people the world over appreciate your s/w (as was often the case when I was giving world wide support in a FREE AutoCad Forum ( s/w was in AutoLISP)), its quite another feeling to have your s/w stolen without so much as an acceptance that it's being swiped.

So, since I have hooked onto the net, I stopped s/w development. I can't afford another desktop right now (and even if I could, I wouldn't have the space to keep it).

Here's what I thought I might try (I am a total novice in hardware).

I plan to use two hard disks, with a toggle switch, so that only one can be powered on at a time.

(Please don't lecture me on external drives, unless you can get it to work with the internal one off).

The idea is that perhaps it is possible to get the two disks completely decoupled, so not even a 'spyware' or what have you, can't tell whats on the other disk.

When I switch over to the other disk, will the system hang or will it automatically reboot ( so that the RAM gets cleaned) ?

I'll accept that it is a hare brained idea, but better a few smirks than the agony of loss.

Does anyone have a better idea ?

Can anyone suggest a fool proof method to protect my s/w ?

There were no takers for my primitive idea.

But, I have gotten a Perfect new year gift : "Broadband".

Assuming you have an older system, then it may have IDE hard drives. These do not support hot-adding or -removal at all and you risk frying the drive or the hard drive controller when you start removing these while the computer is powered on.

In any case you have to power down manually to "switch" disks. The operating system will most certainly have a spectacular crash once it loses its system drive and you risk losing data.