Win32 file opens on start up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave H

I got a trojan horse which has now been removed but every time i start up my system the Win32 file opens up. How do i stop this happening?. Please remember i am a novice so step by step guide appreciated thanks

it sounds like you stil have the trojan. did you disable system restore before removing the trojan? if not then it probably reinstalled itself. to completely remove many viruses and most trojans system restore must be disabled. this deletes all the restore points. (many virus and trojans embed themselves in system resotre and reinstall themselves that way.) after you clean out the trojan you can then re enable system restore.

Some trojans try to reinstall themselves via a copy put in the system32 folder.
If your anti-spyware program removes the executable,that still leaves a registry key to cause problems.

One fix is to go into msconfig start up and uncheck the relevant entry(if there).

Another is to run CCleaner

Or you can try the Microsoft registry method HERE and remove/modify the offending run key.

The solution is the registry.
There are two places which startup tasks are kept.

-Use at your own risk-
(Do not worry if you follow this carefully and do not mess around with the regedit files not harm can come)
Location 1)
1)Start
2)Run
3)Type "regedit" and click enter
4)HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
4.5)Software
5)Microsoft
6)Windows
7)Current Version
8)Run
9)Now select the string (on the right screen) which is the trojan, you should know by its name or lack of name or something weird title.

Location 2)
1)Start
2)Run
3)regedit and enter
4)HKEY_USERS
5)S-1-5-21-404946625-3632811157-4202547865-1006
6)Software
7)Microsoft
8)Windows
9)Current Version
10)Run
Again as before search and destroy that string

I recommend to check both these locations