Win32 problem with AVG

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello
I am using japanese windows (though i speak English) and after having my hard disk repaired a few weeks ago i have not been able to reinstall AVG free version. It cuts off just before the loading bar completes and the computer shuts down and restarts automatically.

Recently I have been getting Win32 problem flashing up and was wondering if the two are connected. I have read other threads and they seem to suggest that some anti virus software is to blame.

I am by no means a computer expert, I use this mostly for writing and photography, this problem is doubled by by inabilty to read a lot of the japanese windows so any answers please make as simple as possible. Basically how can I get rid of this Win32 stress inducer and get AVG back on so that i can relax and use my computer easiier?

have used AVG before and think it is great I miss not having it on there. My computer has MacAfee installed though it is not I believe active anymore. I have an NEC computer which has a lot of stuff installed on it by the company themselves, most of which i don`t want. i did not get a XP home disk either (apparently one doesn`t come with this computer!!)

Many thanks
Damon

As for your AVG problem, occasionally a certain install-file version does not work properly. Uninstall what you have, and/or delete all AVG-directories from your HD.
Then download the latest free AVG version from http://free.grisoft.com and install that.

As an afterthought, were you trying to re-install AVG-6? That's no longer supported, AVG-7 is what you need.

Thankyou I have finally installed AVG and found several stick little virus on my system.

One thing that has come up from doing that is a thing called 180search assistant.com