Win32:VBStat-C [Trj]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Im a newbie to this place, but it would appear that everyone here knows their stuff.

I keep receiving the follwing message from avast:
untitled.jpg

I delete the file and it just keeps returning.

I have run avast, hi-jack, adaware, and Spy Bot. Each one has come up with something and I have deleted it all. Yet it keeps coming back.

If anyone can help it would be most greatly appreciated.

Hello Rajittaa and welcome to TechSpot.

Very important: Before deciding whether to clean or reformat your system, read this thread and decide what you want to do.

If you decide to clean your system after reading the above thread, do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/spyware/malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, ComboFix, and AVG Antispyware logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above. Also post here the results of the AVG Antirootkit scan.

Regards :)

This thread is for the use of Rajittaa only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our Security and the Web forum.

You should copy and paste these instructions into a text file (using Notepad) and save it to your desktop so you can access it from safe mode.

Now please do the following.

Boot into safe mode, under your normal user name (not the administrator account). See how HERE.

In Windows Explorer, turn on "show all files and folders, including hidden and system." See how HERE.

Run HijackThis with no other programs open (except Notepad). Place a tick in the little box next to the following entries (if there):

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AlcxMonitor] ALCXMNTR.EXE

O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present

O6 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present