Win98se Locksup on Splash Screen

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all,
Newbie here. I installed a new Harddrive into an older pentium II pc. First off, it only recognized 8GB of the 40GB, any ideas on fixing this? Second, i FDISK'd and formatted it anyways at 8GB. Win98se installed, but on the reboot it locksup on the startup splash screen? I just installed it, it can't have bugs already, can it?

thanks

It could be your ram, if it is having problems. Try removing each stick and putting 1 more in at a time to see if it works. Also try reseating everything, someting could have wiggled out.

BTW :wave: Welcome to TechSpot :wave:

The 8GB barrier is a limitation with older systems and there are a couple of work arounds.

FIRST, MAKE SURE YOU ARE ENABLING "LARGE DISK SUPPORT" WHEN USING FDISK. It should prompt you for this and you should choose YES.

1.) Flash your BIOS to the latest revision. Your board manfacturer should have the latest BIOS available for download. This is recommended only if you understand the consequences. ;)

2.) Use drive installation utilities to break the 8GB barrier. WD & Maxtor always come with drive installation tools which "trick" the BIOS into recognizing the whole drive.

3.) Purchase a PCI UDMA controller. This is a PCI card that adds additional IDE channels to your computer. The card works independantly from the BIOS, meaning it can address larger sizes even if your computer does not support it.

Something else to consider is that once you break the 8GB barrier, then you have to find a way to get past the 32GB barrier. LoL. You really should not have installed such a large drive in such an old system. Hopefully doing the above will also get you past 32GB as well.

The next one after that is 137GB, so you shouldn't have to worry about that one.