Win98se problems - slow startup & system locks up

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jay Jay

Hi everyone, I'm new to TS and this is my first post.. I've installed Win98se on my new computer and the installation process went smoothly without any hassles, but when I start up the computer and '98 begins the boot up sequence, the problems begin. It takes at least 2 to 3 mins for the boot up to complete and this is on a machine with a P4 3.6 Ghz CPU!

I don't understand why this is happening seeing as both my PII 350 Mhz with Win95OSR2 and my PII 233 Mhz with Win2000 Pro zip through their bootups within seconds..

After doing a search through yahoo/google & microsoft and suspecting this slothful performance might be down to bloated config/autoexec files I used EDIT to have a look and both of them had hardly any lines (my Win95 PC has much more). Not one to give up so quickly, I had a look in the startup folder but it's empty. Anyone have an idea as to what's causing the slow booting?

The second problem is to do with the real dos mode CD-ROM driver (cdrom.sys) supplied by on the NERO kit that came with my DVD/RW's. It's important for me to be able to run the PC in real dos mode from time to time (one of the reasons I'm running Win9x on a new comp), so I installed them and things became even worse..

Once '98 finally appears I can't access windows explorer or the My Computer desktop shortcut, If I try, the system halts and while the mouse pointer can be moved, there is no response to mouse clicks or the keyboard, apart from a few occasions where the best I can hope for is a very sluggish operation. For example, I can see that the start button has been pressed, but there is still no response (and the start button remains depressed, the start menu remains visible, no further progress is made and they don't return to their normal appearance).

After this happens, the only way out is to power down manually and restart.