"Windows Has Detected Spyware Infection."

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rizz

My computer keeps displaying this popup from a red circle with a cross in the middle at the bottom of my screen. I know this is malware as there has been a previous thread about this, however, all the links that have been posted as replies are either expired or no longer exist and so i have no means of getting rid of this. If someone could please post me a solution?? Also, can you be sure to explain clearly and simply what i must do as i am not very familiar with "computer language" and i am relatively new to computers. Once again, thank you.

Hello and welcome to Techspot.

Very Important: Before deciding whether you should clean or reformat your system, go and read this thread HERE and decide what it is you want to do.

If after reading the above, you wish to clean your system, do the following.

Go and read the Viruses/Spyware/Malware, preliminary removal instructions. Follow all the instructions exactly.

Post fresh HJT, AVG Antispyware and Combofix logs as attachments into this thread, only after doing the above.

Also, let me know the results of the AVG Antirootkit scan.

Regards Howard :wave: :wave:

This thread is for the use of Rizz only. Please don`t post your own virus/spyware problems in this thread. Instead, open a new thread in our security and the web forum.

I haven't fully completed the steps above. I'm perhaps halfway through but now the popup has dissapeared.Would you advise me to continue the whole process? Also, zonealarm is informing me that a "DDC" is trying to acces the internet. I have never heard nor seen this program before so i denied access, was i wreong in doing this? Also, i have always been asked that "mim" is trying to acces the internet. I do not know what this is for but it is running on the taskbar's processes tabs whether or not i allow it. Does anyone have any advice for me? Once again, thank you to all whole contribute to this forum.