windows xp pop ups

Status
Not open for further replies.

gingerbill

im a newbie at using windows xp and need some help. Whenever i disable my firewall to play online games i keep getting these annoying pop ups that take me to the desktop , most of them are advertising how to stop these pop ups but i am paranoid about what i download and install . Can anyone give me some advice on how to stop these please!.

are these popup like you get on websites? or the ones that come thru the messenger service in win 2000 and XP?

if they are the ones that come thru the messenger service ( a network feature in XP and 2000 not releated to instant messenger) then you can download and run "shoot the messenger" which will disable this feature and stop the popups.

you can get it here

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=3703

download from planet mirror as gibsons site seems to be down at the moment.

No need to download silly software..

Just go to Start->Settings->Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Services

Right click on Messenger, properties. Set startup type to disabled.
Right click on Messenger, stop.

I've played online games before without having to disable my firewall (as long as you aren't hosting a game). As Nodsu suggests, you can disable the Messenger service when you want to play online. I'd also keep Windows XP built-in firewall, and anti-virus software, activated at all times. It's not safe to go online these days without some degree of protection.

Hmm, I think the XP firewall doesn't work too well. I had quite a few problems with it. I keep it off and use a personal firewall (Sygate that is) instead.

Originally posted by Abraxas
Hmm, I think the XP firewall doesn't work too well. I had quite a few problems with it. I keep it off and use a personal firewall (Sygate that is) instead.