wireless making me go insane

Status
Not open for further replies.

cman3214

hey everyone. I just bought a wireless-n usb network adapter. It works fine for about 10 minutes. Then i lose the connection. My home is a hot zone so i don't need a router or anything so i thought it was a secuity problem. But my brothers and fathers computer work just fine. What should i do? Thanks in advance

When you say hot zone do you know what protocol is being use?

802.11b
802.11g
802.11n pre
802.11n draft 2.0

What does your brother/father computer use for network protocol? Start from there. Look at their settings.

Are you use there is no Wireless Router being used? Are they using a switch?

I'm pretty sure there is no other router being used. How do you figure out what protocol they are using? I was thinking it had something to do with the settings but this is my first time working with a wireless anything lol. Oh and my adapter is a linksys. I'm i suppose to use the program they have to connect to the internet or the windows xp program?

the WiFi you connect to (hot zone/hot spot or your own private router) AND
the wireless adaptor in your system MUST speak the same language (we call it a protocol).

For WiFi access the following protocols are available:
802.11a
802.11b
802.11g
802.11n pre
802.11n draft 2.0​

the worst possible situation is the 11n protocol(s) as they are non-standard {as yet] }
and very vendor specific, meaning Linksys 11.n may not connect with Belkin 11.n
and this is true for ALL combinations of the 11.n vendors. The only known way
to use 11.n successful is to use the same vendor's router and wireless adaptor.