WRNG: Dell users: Unmountable boot vol./Plz oh great mods, extend a "hand"

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a noob here (obviously). I read the faq and other links provided under my intro to the site. I've also read at least 5 pages from searching 'unmountable.....".

I've a Dell 4700 P4 purchased in late '04 that I use at home. Win XP Home edition. I've listed what specs i remember in my profile that I could remember (I'm @ work).

The computer had worked just fine until I clicked on a Dell pop up window that emanated from the Dell icon on the menu bar. It was for a 30 day free trial for a PC tuneup. I've had this Dell icon since day one and receive tips and suggestions that pop up now and then. I clicked on the link for the program to remove unwanted internet files, trash bin, etc. I had family over and came back to see 'restart computer' on the screen. Did this and as you expected, saw the blue screen with Unmountable boot volume; stop 0x0000000ed....

I tried the different modes to get back into it; the various SAFE MODEs, LAST KNOWN GOOD CONFIG and nothing worked. It just kept going back to the blue screen or the screen i just mentioned with SAFE MODE etc. I tried getting to the command prompt, but to no avail. I've the Home Ed. Windows disk that came with the computer and tried changing the bios to reflect to start with CD drive, but it's not reading from the CD. This is where the ig'nant noob part comes in (well, as if it didn't earlier), I'm presuming it's not reading from this disk because it's for installation and not a boot disk?

I went to Microsoft's support page http://support.microsoft.com/kb/555302/en-us to see if that would help. As you'll read below, putting the cd in didn't get me to any screen (Welcome to Setup) where I could enter recovery console.