XP INSTALL ERROR "setup did not find any hard disk drivess installed on your computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, I am really new to the world of hardware, all I am trying to do is Reformat my computer and reinstall windows, but it says that it can't complete the install because it can't find the HDD, I am running 2 WD S-ATA 74GB 10k rpm drives at Raid 0 if that helps....

Haha I am new and trying to delve into the world of hardware and system bios and things so I am slightly retarded and may not understand what you are saying....

BUT PLEASE HELP my comp is now trashed cause I got all crazy deleting things thinking it would help hahahahahah

Thanks

Is this a boxed XP and full version cd ?
I just did mine with some help from Microsoft.
I have a WD Sata2,But didn't use Raid drivers the 2nd time.
I might be able to post directions.
OEM's have limits.

Honestly I don't remember I just have the boot cd, I got it probably 6 years ago with a package up PC I bought from Comp USA or BestBuy or something like that. I have had the CD forever and used it on my new PC when I got it built so I wouldn't have to buy it again. It's worked fine up until the day I decided to do something myself (yesterday and today) and reformat.

Your main problem in my opinion is you need to hit F6 when prompted to install SATA/RAID controller drivers. You'll need a floppy drive for this procedure. If you don't have a floppy, you can still make a slipstream CD with your Windows CD and the proper SATA/RAID drivers. As long as you are doing this you might as well go to the motherboard's website and download the latest versions (using another PC, of course). Google for the steps necessary to make a slipstream CD.

Cool thank you, I appreciate it... however like I said I am a totally new to this so I am not really sure how to go about getting the windows cd and proper drivers on a CD

Also i don't know what you mean by latest motherboard version...like a driver as well?