XP Installation Problem...

Status
Not open for further replies.

LGraves

Greetings all,
New member here, im going to give some background info on whats been going on with my PC.

First off about 2 months ago my motherboard (AOpen AK89 Max) died - was not sending a signal to my monitor. I played around with some things i had read about and could never get it to work. So i ordered a new mobo. This one compared to my old mobo is crap hehe. Im pretty new at dealing with motherboards and installing them so this was my 1st time. New mobo = Biostar k8NHA Grand - I needed a compatible AGP/754 pin

When I first installed this mobo. It posted I played ith the BIOS a bit and it would go into windows fine. However,when trying to load up BF2142 or WoW (I was really foaming at the mouth to play) I would get a BSOD! so I couldnt run any games or exporer.

After about a day of trying to update the drivers I still kept getting BSOD's reguarding devices and drivers and new hardware or software - multiple stop messages.

I then got sick of that and thought it would be a great idea to take a differant approach - I grabbed my windows recovery CD and started to attempt a repair. still getting BSOD's reguarding hardware and what not.

This HDD is about a year old HDD - (Seagate 7200 sata 120gb) - its been working well.

So I have this going on with this older HDD that I been using.

Now im in the process of trying to freshly install XP on a 2nd HDD that I had in my closet totally new. This 2nd HDD is a Maxtor 100gb HDD maybe about 2 years old.

With this 2nd HDD I have gotten all the way down to 19 miutes left to install I think it says its installing start menu items (?) but it then goes to a BSOD
and says this:

cdfs_file_system (think it said something diferant here also,will try again)