XP Remote Desktop problem; can't connect

Status
Not open for further replies.
hi:
i am new to techspot, but thought that I would join and see if anyone had any good suggestions for me as i've tried everything to get this problem resolved and can't seem to figure it out.

Problem: Can't connect to XP Pro laptop that has Remote Desktop enabled in both the Control Panel and in Windows Firewall. I'm trying to connect from another machine in the Internal Company LAN on the same IP Subnet. I can connect to all other internal machines on the network except for this laptop.

I get the following message when the connection fails:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
The client could not connect to the Remote computer.

Remote connections might not be enabled or the computer might to be too busy to accept new connections. It is also possible that network problems are preventing your connection.

Please try connecting again later. If the problem continues to occur, contact your administrator.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am the administrator for the company and cannot figure this one out.
Any and all suggestions greatly appreciated.

TB in Austin

what user account settings are you referring to? what exactly do I need to have set? also, I am off site/remote, so without being able to connect to the host machine, I can't test if I can RDT out.

Hi
Ok lets take this from the networking viewpoint. If there's a firewall or router between the host and client, that might be blocking the ports needed for rdp. You should check on this to be sure this isn't the case. While on the subject of networking, the system must be configured to accept rdp requests, and to open the rdp ports in the xp firewall if you run it.