XP Start up problems. Possible Hardware failure?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sledgus

I have been having trouble starting up windows XP. Everytime i start up XP, it always freezes. I would do something as simple as try to open My Computer, or internet explorer, and it would freeze, or take a lifetime to open.

I am also unable to install any programs, as I keep getting Error 1117 I/O error. I have ran HDD tests, and everything points to the HDD being fine. My main suspicion is that I have RAM problems??

I have done 2 complete formats, and fresh installs of windows XP profesional, and that didnt help! :confused:

Does anyone know what could be the problem?

I have, and I had the same problem, but that doesnt rule out the HDD either. The strange thing is that I can boot up fine in safe mode, everything works OK, its just when i try to do a normal startup!

hi every one I am satish I am a tech support engg

sledgus said:
I have been having trouble starting up windows XP. Everytime i start up XP, it always freezes. I would do something as simple as try to open My Computer, or internet explorer, and it would freeze, or take a lifetime to open.

I am also unable to install any programs, as I keep getting Error 1117 I/O error. I have ran HDD tests, and everything points to the HDD being fine. My main suspicion is that I have RAM problems??

I have done 2 complete formats, and fresh installs of windows XP profesional, and that didnt help! :confused:

Does anyone know what could be the problem?

If you receive the following error message, it might indicate that Microsoft SQL Server 2000 has detected hardware or system problems when it was reading from or writing to database files:

Error 823
I/O error <error> detected during <operation> at offset <offset> in file '<file>'