explorer.exe - application error. Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

seraphina

Aaargh! Help! Just got a new pc, Windows XP Home edition, fair spec. Transferred a bunch of picture and video files to a DVD-RW but now when I try to access the disk I repeatedly get this error msg: "explorer.exe- application error. The instruction at "0x77f52b6a" referenced memory at "0x00760065". The memory could not be "written". Click on ok to terminate the program. Click on CANCEL to debug the program" but whatever I press explorer simply shuts down and I can't get access to my files. However the other DVD-RW I haved stored similar files on is fine. Any help much appreciated, though I'm a novice so can I respectfully ask that solutions be of the step-by-step-for-*****s variety. Many thanks.

Get memtest86 from www.memtest86.com (link fixed) and install it on a floppy, and run it, and let us know if you find any errors. The error that you are getting is typical of an error in RAM, however, it can be caused by MANY sources.

Does this error occur when you try to access any other drives/directories?

Also- the error can be related to a file system corruption. Since writing CD/DVDs is prone to error, you may just have a bad burn, and there's not a whole lot you can do other than rewrite the CD.

Have you checked the surface of the CD to be sure it's clean, unscratched?

Let us know about this- since it's a new PC, you may wish to consider warranty options if this problem occurs in more than just that DVD.

BTW- Welcome to Techspot!

Edit: Link fixed from domain squatter stupidity.

Goalie

Thanks for your suggestions. Tried to run memtest86 but its installation overcame my puny technical skills and the readme was too complex for me to follow (I got to being asked "enter disk image source file name" and, durr, wasn't sure what I was required to do).