Wireless USB? + Cable Modem

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjangl337

well im a noob at this networking stuff so im just asking... im buying a new comp very soon and i was wondering how i could use cable internet using one modem thats currently connected to this comp. i know that u can use usb cat-5 port things watevers (lol) and connect that to the cable modem but i want a "wireless" usb port becuase i want the other comp in a diff room. sorry if this sounds stupid but can someone show me how to install one of these and the hardware i need, to do all of it. or u can tell me wat to exactly buy... like links to the actually products :D sorry... im stoopid

ok i read the arcticle and understood some things but still didnt understand certain things so i think i should go with the Wireless 802.11b plan using a Access Point type of wireless router thats limits me to 54mbs i have 2 questions one is that wat is 54 mbs like... i mean i jsut want a regular broadband connection to the net like the one im using now... so lets say im Playing CS on this comp with 40 ping would that ping become alot higher due to the use of a wireless router instead of being directly connected? and if i buy one of those wireless access point routers would i need to buy ne thing else?

latency is not the same as bandwidth
the 54 mbs is the fastest possible, u will most likely not experience that speed, if u are serious about online gaming then go with a wired network, 802.11 doesnt cut it imo

i would imagine that you would experience a larger ping with a wireless network

also wireless costs a lot more than wired networks of the same speed etc

ALSO 54Mbs is not 54MBs

54 megabits vs 54 megabytes

network lingo uses a bit instead of a byte 1 byte is equal to 8 bits so a 54 Mbs network is really running at speed 54Mbs = 6.7 MBs

there are some faster wireless networks out there but i know nothing about them sry

XD