My Documents Folder Opens on Boot (XP SP2)

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not a computer newbie, but this is driving me insane. On reboot, My Documents folder opens. Everywhere I look, nothing... grr... Nothing in msconfig, nothing in Startup folder, I even checked a few registry keys, and still nothing.

Here's a HJT Log

Attachments

• hijackthis.txt
    5.3 KB · Views: 74
Boot in Safe Mode
Switch off System Restore

Run Hijackthis on its own and let it 'fix':
F2 - REG:system.ini: UserInit=C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe,userinit.exe
O21 - SSODL: Web Event Logger - {79FEACFF-FFCE-815E-A900-316290B5B738} - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Egdbnpdl.dll
O21 - SSODL: mtkle - {4AF272B6-2894-4979-6985-A807CD166A02} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\vfqy32.dll

When done, delete:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\Egdbnpdl.dll
C:\WINDOWS\System32\vfqy32.dll

Reboot and see how things go. If OK, switch System Restore back on.

My Documents opens with desktop Win ME - driving me nuts too!

Hi. I'm new to the forum, and found this thread with google search. It sounds like the same issue. On ME, I have 2 defined user profiles, plus the default desktop, kind of like a third profile. I checked and the My Documents folder opens on startup in all 3 profiles. It isn't in the stratup folder on any of them either. It opens right after the desktop icons load, and along with the defined startup apps like my internet connection and outlook express mail.
I'll try HijackThis and post back with results.

Unfortunately, fix log different in ME from XP

OK, I downloaded HijackThis, did a restart to SAFE mode, disabled System Restore, restarted in SAFE mode again, checked that system restore was still disabled, and ran a HijackThis scan with log.(attachment log01)