Realtek AC'97- No audio device recognised

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey there,
Can someone help me? I've been trying to work this out 4 weeks.

I can hear audio playing through winamp/media player and basically any program thats on my computer (XP). But I cant hear anything that plays through flash online eg. myspace audio and youtube etc etc.
But I can listen to online radio through Real audio etc.
This is a real prob for me cos I work in the music industry and have to keep up with the latest music from bands.
Everything was working fine until about 10 days ago when it stopped without explanation (that I can fathom).
It's very strange cos when I go into control panel, it says there is no audio device. But how can this be? I can still hear music from my harddrive.

What I've done: Uninstalled/ reinstalled Flash, also the Realtek drivers...

Where is starts to get wierd:
I thought i fixed my problem the other night. All of a sudden it recognised Realtek as the audio device and I could listen to everything online- so happy! But i had no explanation of why it started working again.

Then the next day:
No device recognised! Ahhh!
After several restarts I found that some times control panel says there was an audio device (realtek 97) and more often it says there is nothing.
I have a suspicion it could be cos there's other hardware Unimodem half duplex installed on the computer.. but am not sure what to do about this. I tried disabling it, but then nothing at all would play- not even through winamp etc.

Please if you have any idea how to deal with this, I would be so appreciative.
:)

On-board audio, Realtek codec drivers and such can be very dodgey and problematic. Even when all things are working perfectly, these still utilize a big portion of CPU resources just for basic operation. In all, integrated audio is a good cheap alternative for Grandma's "You got mail!" when she signs into AOL, but for most everyone else, it's not the best solution.