Microsoft is in trouble yet again for its heavy-handed approach when ‘encouraging’ people to move to Windows 10. The company has brought in changes after PC World discovered that clicking on the red X in the newly-designed pop-up’s window was being considered as consent for the upgrade to take place.

Since December, Microsoft’s Get Windows 10 (GWX) pop-up offered users the dizzying choices of “Upgrade Now” or “Start download, upgrade later,” leaving those who didn’t want the latest version of the operating system no option but to close the window using the standard X in the corner.

Microsoft also changed Windows 10’s classification to a Recommended update in February, meaning that users of older Windows versions who had automatic updates activated would have Windows 10 downloaded without requesting it. Again, the only way to avoid the installation was to click on the X to close the pop-up window.

The GWX prompt was changed last week, introducing a small and quite easily-missed link that allows users to reschedule or cancel the upgrade. But when presented with this Window, many people missed the link and simply clicked on the corner X as usual, assuming they were canceling the installation; instead, they were consenting for the update to take place at the scheduled time.

After facing heavy criticism from users, which it referred to as “customer feedback,” Microsoft has now modified the pop-up. "We've added another notification that confirms the time of the scheduled upgrade and provides the customer an additional opportunity for canceling or rescheduling the upgrade. If the customer wishes to continue with their upgrade at the designated time, they can click 'OK' or close the notifications with no further action needed," the company told the BBC.

Despite the issues people have over privacy and ads, Windows 10 is generally accepted as being Microsoft’s best OS in years. But even those who love it aren’t happy with the tactics being used to make people upgrade.