7600gt in dell 4700?!?!?!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PikaChop

:confused:

I have a dell 4700 and i "just" recently found out i have a PCIexpress card -_-
so i was what the heck lets upgrade to a new graphics card. i am going with the XFX 7600gt but i want to know is it compatiable with teh PSU? i search online, most forums said it did and some said it didnt. still very confused. 305w.lame eh?
well i was wondering, since i am a noob, if i install a 7600gt in my dell do i need a plug that will be directly plugged into my videocard to psu? .

specs

pent-4 2.8
ram-ddr2 (2 X 256)
Hdrive - 1sata
and one CD rom drive

Did you just check around in system settings and it said your graphics card was PCI-E? Or did you actually open the case to find out? Because if you just looked at system settings, it might just SAY PCI-E because integrated graphics cards sometimes run on the PCI-E bus even though there is not a physical slot. Also, a Dell system cannot power a 7600GT. You will also need a new power supply. I'm not exactly sure about 7600GTs but you might need to plug in a cable from the power supply (probably just a standard molex plug if you need one at all). And if you are getting the 7600GT to improve your gaming performance, it won't do a heck of a lot until you get more RAM too because 512MB is just not enough for games these days. 1GB+ is what you need.

MetalX said: