A good book to be familiar with Linux

abbasi

Hello guys,

I'm a C++ programmer. And I'm also studying computer networking. I have heard many things about that how much the Linux is important in computer networking/networks and computer administration area. I think most popular distribution is Ubuntu but not sure whether it's also that important on networking area or not. Until now I have been only a Windows user (though I'm reading about the FreeBSD handbook to be familiar with it and also installed the Ubuntu on my virtual machine Vmware). I don't know what distribution is more important in that area and I'm somewhat confused what distribution/book I should start to work/read. Please tell me some info in this case and also suggest me an excellent book on the area of computer networking/networks.

I have no idea what I'm talking about, at that admission absolves me of guilt.

I think you might want to deal with the commercial distros of Linux, such as "Red Hat". These are sold supported. But, I have no real idea if they're in the forefront now, or not.

But yeah, with Ubuntu, you just might be able to get a copy of, "Windows for Cheapskates", and read between the lines....;)

Thanks again.
They are grate. And I'd like to read a good textbook and then prepare myself to go into those two site deeply. I have chosen two ones about Linux (for beginners). If you like I can name them and you say your opinion to guide me once again.

I don't know what distribution is more important in that area.
The difference between distributions is not all that major. As a programmer, you will want to make sure you have the Server features (Apache, Perl, PHP, MySql, SMTP, FTP, SNMP). When I was moving software (aka "porting" as it's known) between Unix (SunOS, HP, SGI, IBM) & Linux systems, the location of the source code header files (eg: stdio.h) would sometimes be in different location, but seldomly was it necessary to alter the program logic.