TechSpot

A7N8X stability problems

By mr_glr
Feb 26, 2004
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello

I am quite new in the business of overclocking and I need help understanding if my settings are ok and why some things are the way they are...

First, my setup:

Asus A7N8X Rev 2 Bios C1004
    AMD 2600+ Barton (multiplier locked)
    Out of the box heatsink fan
    Corsair PC3200 XMS+ 256 x 2 (for 512 Mb) in dual mode
    MSI GeForce 4 TI4600
    Maxtor 6L060J3 (60 Gb)
    Quantum FireballP AS60 (60 Gb)
    DVD Writer LG GSA-4040B
    CD Writer LG CRD-8522B

That's about all that is relevant I think.

Ok, I've tried a few settings but the most stable I've achieved up to now is this:

Running FSB at 189 Mhz (380 Mhz)
    Resulting CPU speed of 2.19 Ghz
    Memory is set to 11-3-3-2 (100% speed)
    CPU vCore at 1.7
    DDr at 2.8
    AGP at 1.6

CPU temperature never got higher than 54 celcius and board to 27 while running Prime95. So I believe these settings are pretty conservative, aren't they? Well, Prime95 didn't run for more than 30 minutes when it crashed (reboot).

Also, I've played EA Sports F1 99-02 for about 30-45 minutes before it crashed too (reboot).

Before that, I had tried memory settings of 8-3-3-2, 7-3-3-2 and 6-3-3-2 along with lower voltage settings but the PC was crashing even faster in F1 99-02.

Sandra 2004 reports memory bandwidth efficiency as being around 92% (int) and 84% (float). The other numbers look quite good to me but it's just not stable enough for me. Seeing numbers on the 'net for similar setups, I believe I should be able to crank it up a little more.

Can you help??
    Thanks
    Mr GLR
  2. Didou

Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 5,899

3. Didou

Didou Bowtie extraordinair! Posts: 5,899

You can also use a SpeedStrip if you can ever get your hands on one.
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...