AOL Spyware Detector stops working at 99% done.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cue Club 2

Has anyone had a problem using the AOL Spyware Detector?...Mine keeps stopping at 99% done with 4 spyware entries uncorrected.

AOL told me to reinstall the detector, but that didn't work...Then they told me to reinstall the untire 9.0 broswer, and that didn't work either.
:knock:
Would one of the 4 spyware items in the detector be preventing AOL's spyware detector from doing its job?

AOL's spyware detector is the only detector picking up these 4 items, and I have: AdAware, Spybot, Spysweeper, Spyblaster, and Windows Beta Spy detector.

You don't think that AOL is making up these 4 spyware entries just to make people believe that their detector is better than these others I have?

I have no AOL experience, but usually if a bug detector stops scanning it is a good sign you have a bug.
Do a Google and see if you can track the actual bug names the scan gave you.This may give you a specific method to elliminate the item.
The fact that these items were not caught by the other programs you used may mean that these bugs are particular to AOL ( but not necessarily planted by AOL) Also Try your Scan in Safe mode , especially the Window's scanner, It has an excellent rep.

The problem is the AOL spy scanner did not tell me what these 4 spyware items were because it did not complete its job. It stopped at 99% complete.

Then I get a windows error submission report request which I must have sent them already 2 dozen times to no avail.

But I will try what you suggest and run the windows Beta Spyware scanner in Safe Mode and see what happens...Thanks :rolleyes:

hi
i am working with AOL technical support... used aol on my PC.. honest advice -: remove AOL spyware detector.. it will fasten ur pc and its not as good as advertised.. install Microsoft Antispyware.. its much better and doesn't give ur pc any problem.. :)