ASUS P4SD-LA mobo Replacement

Status
Not open for further replies.
Since I can't seem to find a solution to my previous problem (https://www.techspot.com/vb/topic82829.html) I think my only option left is to find a new motherboard. I heard that when switching motherboards that are not the same BIOS/Chipset you will have to reinstall XP which I don't think is an option for me because my XP was mounted as a cd-rom image on my hard drive and was pre-installed for me so I want to find a placement for my current mobo with the same BIos/CHipset. I'm new to these kind of stuff and do not really understand what Bios/Chipset are and was hoping you guys could assist me in check the specification of my old motherboard and the mobo I'm going to get to see if their the same. and if their not I was hoping you guys could give me some suggestions :). Thanks a lot!

old mobo:
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...&cc=us&dlc=en&docname=c00022505#c00022505_doc

new mobo:
http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?pfp=cat3&product_code=337126

since the old computer was an HP and u are looking for a new MB I would suggest going and buy a new Windows XP disk or VISTA if that is what u want, and get a complete new board and do not worry about the old install. U will have less problems and be better off.

if u look on the net there are OEM versions of WindowsXP that are not that high to buy. just a suggestion, do a google search.

When you buy another XP CD, you're also spendin a lot of money on another COA key...