Attempting to install W XP to fix an XP Pro computer

Hello,

I am trying to help a friend out. I am a help desk level one person by trade but most definitely out of practice and my tools are out of date too. Friend has two duplicate Dell desktops one looks like a bad HD that is FUBAR. I am trying out the HD from the other. The first HD is a Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 SATA drive and the other is a WD Caviar SE SATA. Both computers are Windows XP Pro but I only have my old XP home disc to use from my old no longer in service XP desktop. I have tried loading the system from both what is originally on the WD drive and to run the Windows XP Home setup I have. I get the following three error codes:

0x0000007B
0xF7A8E63C
0xC0000034

Since both of these machines have been around the block a few times I am willing to believe both drives are FUBAR but before telling the guy that I wanted to run this by others. I don't have any spare CDs to burn diagnostic software to disc to run and the diagnostic software I have is really ancient as in from when XP was still relatively new, I worked for Geek Squad and the disk technology that was current was still IDE/EIDE......so it won't work for anything SATA.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.

You can always download for example ubuntu and run it as a live CD. That way you could get access to the content on the HD and see how well the computers work in general. If you need something from the HDDs then you can just copy the junk to a flash drive and then when everything is saved just do a clean install (format and install) windows.